Home > On the Calendar > Pride and Heritage

Pride and Heritage

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I love Heritage Day. The anticipation. The excitement. Cheering on the brave souls who enter the Marathon Derby from the side of the road. The familiar sound of my camera clicking its way through the subsequent parade. Most of all, however, it’s a time to enjoy genuine pride in my country and its people. Citizens of any country need a day for nationalism and patriotism that remain absolute despite the daily troubles that often threaten our peace. It’s a day to stand side by side, shoulder to shoulder with people we may not ordinarily encounter or interact with in our ordinary routines. On this day, we have a lot in common. We’re all cheering on the runner who looks like she wants to give up one mile from the marathon finish line. We chat about the heat, cloud cover or rain that’s affecting our day. We all want everyone to succeed—finish the marathon, win a ribbon for the best float of its class, perform that dance routine with enthusiasm and precision.

I love the 24th of May. It’s one week from my birthday, marking the official countdown to the first day of the next year of my life (Lord willing). I spend a lot of time reflecting on why I returned to the country of my birth as an adult. It’s the first birthday gift I open every year. When I consider the talent and pride that shines through the faces of the majorettes or float attendants, I am reminded how privileged I am to live here.

I love Bermuda Day. Formerly Commonwealth Day, it has become a day that is uniquely ours. Intended as a way to bring races together in harmony, it became Bermuda Day. Whether the holiday accomplishes that feat is debatable. Black, white, Portuguese and other residents support the day’s activities by volunteering, operating business stalls and floats, working behind the scenes in any one of the hundreds of roles required to make the holiday a community success.

I love Heritage Day. I respect it. Heritage is not something a child dwells on or normally appreciates. Heritage is the concept that is longed for when the adult wonders where he fits in the universe. When he asks Who am I? it helps if he knows a bit about his heritage. Which brings us back to the child. We need to teach our children about their heritage. The good, the unflattering and the lessons we had to learn the hard way. Teach them so they can walk with pride and power. Teach them and remember.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

