Home > At Play > Birthday Gifts for Any Budget

Birthday Gifts for Any Budget

Do you remember this awkward rhyme from school days? Thirty days hath September, April, June and November. All the rest (except February) have thirty-one, including May, my birth month. Most people know exactly what they want for their birthday—golf clubs, a designer this or that, a party, a puppy—but, after casually pondering the thought all month, I haven’t come up with anything elaborate. I have, however, decided to give myself a basketful of gifts I can afford:

• The gift of health – My Monday night Zumba party is where I can strut my stuff in the name of keeping my heart pumping to a healthy beat.

• The gift of knowledge – A commitment to read more and watch less TV. I’m currently reading Half Broke Horses by Jeanette Walls for book club and recently picked up a copy of Freedom Writers Diary by The Freedom Writers with Erin Gruwell. After watching the movie, Freedom Writers, about a week ago and seeing a presentation by Ms Gruwell at a leadership conference, I’m eager to know what else the students have to say. Thank goodness for gift certificates and library cards!

• The gift of inspiration – Membership to an online book club.

• The gift of companionship – Lunch on my birthday with a special friend that she’s preparing just for me.

• The gift of deviation – A night off from cooking dinner is a nice break from the norm.

• The gift of fellowship – Spending time with my extended church family giving thanks for the blessings God has given me.

• The gift of anticipation – I love getting birthday greetings and well wishes from family and friends, whether by email, phone or in person.

So when people ask me what I got for my birthday, I’ll have to tell them to sit down. It’s a l-o-n-g list.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

