Home > Uncategorized > Enjoy the Watermelon and Spit out the Seeds

Enjoy the Watermelon and Spit out the Seeds

The supermarket that I frequent has been disappointing me lately. Expired food items still on the shelves. A stack of another food item that looked so old I didn’t even think about checking out the expiration dates. Check-out clerks and grocery packers who discuss my food purchases (a personal pet peeve) like soap opera gossip. The practice of allowing food to melt—even partially—and refreezing it before selling it to customers is the area of the most frustration lately. I have noticed the telltale signs of refrigeration problems—wet, bunched-up paper towels shoved under the refrigerator cases. The latest victim, a box of three mango iced smoothie pops that had obviously melted to some degree. Hubby was too disgusted to even try to dig out the stick from the middle of the pop.

“Another waste,” he sighed and threw it in the trash. “They don’t treat their food like this at [name of competing supermarket].”

Hint. Hint.

I took the hint and shopped at the other store this week, which is like moving into a new neighborhood. The aisles are different. The store layout is different. Even the pricing method is different; they label the shelves, not the individual food items. Feeling like a foreigner but determined to make the task as pleasant as possible, I took my time choosing what I needed, discovering new products and mentally estimating differences in prices between the old supermarket and this one. After all, I have a budget to stick to.

After unpacking our groceries and getting supper out of the way, I picked up the supermarket receipt during a discussion with Hubby about my plans for recording all of our receipts, a tactic I learned in a recent budgeting seminar. I planned to start the process with the grocery receipt. Then I saw it.

What's that blip on my receipt??


Take a look at the picture of the receipt. See anything . . . extravagant? As a vegetarian, I understand the importance of proper nutrition, especially getting one’s daily allowance of fruit and vegetables. But goodness! That watermelon cost $17.99! Are you kidding me?! I shook my head. I scratched my head. I held my head so my veins wouldn’t pop out. Eighteen dollars for a watermelon!

The good thing is, it won’t go to waste. Hubby loves fruit and both of us enjoy watermelon. So I stopped screaming and looked at the blessings in this situation:

1. We have access to fresh, nutritious food.
2. I had enough money to buy the food I needed. After all, I didn’t notice the outrageous price until I got home, not at the cash register.
3. We have choices. Next time, I could choose to shop somewhere else or skip the overpriced watermelon.

Okay, so the watermelon cost an arm and a leg, but I what I really got was a lesson on gratitude.

  1. August 19, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    Hon, I would have stroked out at the $10 honeydew melon and the $1.69 orange, long before I got to the $18 watermelon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

