Home > Goals, Post A Week 2011 > Weigh Station Tears

Weigh Station Tears

So I started September with good news and bad news. As much as I dread that “woman’s yearly” (not the squash club, the other appointment), I go. But thankfully this post is not about all that (you’re welcome). It’s about getting my feelings hurt.

Do you know women who claim they can’t put on weight? You know, those women whom all other women seem to be perpetually irritated by. Maybe you’re one of them. Well, Mother warned that one day, when I got older, I’ll regret those terrible eating habits. Apple pie at midnight while watching a cable movie. Never taking regular exercise seriously. Ignoring the telltale signs; those curves are coming at a price—a skirt size.

Which brings me to the scale at the doctor’s office. Click, click, click to the right. Click, click to the left. Click. Nod. Scribble.

So there’s good news and bad news.

The good news: I am still at the same weight as last year’s appointment.

The bad news: I am heavier now than I have ever been—including at 9 months pregnant. And I’ve been that way for a year.

Ugh! Now what?

Special K claims I can lose 6 pounds in 2 weeks if I stick with their program. I’m already taking an aerobics class twice a week while waiting for my Zumba class to start for the Fall session. Having a lighter meal in the evening is actually a healthier way to eat and would cut my calories. I miss being able to wear some of my clothes. Do I need any more motivation for getting back into shape?

Perhaps I should . . .

Mother was right.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

