Home > At Play, On the Calendar, Post A Week 2011 > End of Summer – First Swim

End of Summer – First Swim

As much as I like a long weekend, I usually anticipate Labor Day weekend with a measure of sadness. It unofficially marks the rapidly approaching end of summer. It’s when I get desperate because, although I live only five minutes from some beautiful beaches, typically by Labor Day, I haven’t spent time on any of them. Most weekends I have every intention of spending part of Sunday at the beach. So what happens? I get caught up in this or that. Sometimes, get this, it’s just too hot. Too hot for the beach! By Tuesday of the week, I wish I had made the effort. I do this dance between intention and lack of effort all summer.

Intentions count in your actions. (Abu Bakr)

Which brings me back to Labor Day. I just can’t allow Labor Day to pass without dipping my bathing suit in crystal clear water on a bright, sunny day. So today, Hubby and I took the plunge. Grabbed a couple of towels, ripped the tags off my unworn bathing suit and hit the beach. Despite the choppy surf resulting from Katia in the Atlantic Ocean, the beach was comfortably crowded with enough space in the sand to find a spot without sitting on someone else’s blanket. The lifeguards had posted red flags on the beach as a warning that rough surf and rip tide conditions existed.

Dangerous surf conditions

True, the waves were larger than normal for this beach, but it didn’t stop the sand castle competion the day before.

Heard of a beached whale? This is a cool beach lion.

Sand figure

Sand character

Or the volley ball games. The view in the cove was spectacular. Parents and kids were enjoying the calmer waters of the cove. Just my speed because I can’t really swim despite formal swimming lessons at our town’s pool when I was a kid. Water higher than my chest makes me nervous, but I ventured in anyway. The water felt refreshing, the air smelled salty, and the sand squished between my toes. When my shriveled fingers and rumbling tummy told me it was time to get out of the water, we headed home for supper

Even out of the water there’s fun to be had for the creative ones!

First swim of the season—Labor Day weekend. Better than nothing.

  1. September 16, 2011 at 1:19 am

    That’s an awesome looking place to spend some fun time. I have to admit, I’m not fond of the hot summer days either. I hope you’re able to spend more time at the beach next year. 🙂

  2. September 16, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    Every year I say I’m going to go to the beach more but . . . by January I’m really regretting not following through with that promise. By that time it’s too late to take a dip–except for the adventurous.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

