Home > Books, Post A Week 2011 > Book Club Sisters

Book Club Sisters

Sunday afternoon. Sitting in a circle of women. Talking about homelessness, forgiveness, prejudice and other bits of life. No, it’s not a group therapy session. There’s no overpriced, vaguely helpful psychologist asking, “So, how did that make you feel?” Just a group of ladies with at least one other thing in common: books. I like my book club meetings. Even though I enjoy reading, sometimes I need a bit of a push. A deadline. Sunday, 18th of September, at 3:30 pm. Having finished the assigned book over a week ago, I was ready for the discussion.

Our book: Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall and Denver Moore. What’s interesting about book clubs, for the uninitiated, is the interaction among members. Twelve women read one book and how many perspectives do you think surface? Of course, that’s the fun of it. A couple of us had a challenge getting into the book. Frankly, halfway through the first chapter I already thought I wouldn’t finish the book. I haven’t missed a book club meeting yet, so I had a sick day coming. Things picked up in the second chapter. From then on I enjoyed a story about an unusual friendship and a role model. A true story that has been around for a while (2006), Same Kind of Different as Me, motivates its readers to look inside themselves and identify the gifts we can use to help others. These gifts need not be extraordinary. Debbie Hall’s gifts of charity and hospitality shone through the book (a true story). She made a difference in one man’s life and ultimately left a love-inspired legacy to her family and community.

I have been trying to decide how to pass this book on so that the next reader might enjoy and be inspired by it as much as I have been, but why stop at just one person? If you’re looking for a read that won’t waste your time, load Same Kind of Different as Me onto your Kindle or Nook (or grab the good old-fashioned paper version) and settle into your favorite reading spot. Beware: you’ll want to discuss those Reader’s Guide questions with someone.

  1. October 2, 2011 at 4:58 am

    Visiting other blogs is a wonderfull way of finding new things. Without the photo challenge I would not have visited you and read about your book club. I am always looking for new books to read and will certainly take a look at this one. The first chapter is so important and I often fall into the trap of putting a book away because Chapter 1 has not caught my attention. Thank you

    • October 2, 2011 at 3:13 pm

      Thanks for your comments. Some books are east to jump into and others take a bit of effort. Seriously, if I had not continued on to Chapter 2, I would have missed out on a good book. If you get it, I hope you enjoy reading it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

