Home > Post A Week 2011 > Feels Like Home

Feels Like Home

Last week the familiar and much anticipated two favorite words were swirling in the atmosphere. We look forward to them, as fleeting as they may be. Sometimes we’re prepared and the dates fit just right. At other times, we’re not as fortunate, especially when blackout dates are considered, and we have to pretend we’re not frustrated or just a little jealous when our co-workers or neighbors are positioned perfectly to take advantage of the latest airline seat sale.

Seat Sale.

A seat sale means possibilities. The possibility of leaving my current home temporarily to visit my childhood home. I like going home. Going home is like closing my eyes in the middle of a country kitchen and inhaling the hominess, comfort, and satisfaction of home cooking. What better time to enjoy the hominess of home than at Thanksgiving. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, and I say that without excuse. Forget that I’m not even American—or that I’m actually a citizen of a British territory. However, I grew up singing the Star Spangled Banner, raking leaves, and shoveling snow, none of which are present-day activities. Fond memories die hard though, which is why, on a past home visit, I cranked up the radio station playing hits from my high school days in the PT Cruiser rental I was driving and drove the route through my old hometown. On the way I stopped by some of the landmarks that made up my world before I relocated. I snapped some pictures.

High School

Middle School

Elementary School (turned Nursing Home)

A Favorite Spot – The Town Library

No doubt where my love of reading and books started. Before Kindles and Nooks (even before Amazon.com?), there was the library card. Who wouldn’t like a tiny card that provided endless routes for imaginative wanderings?

Is it me or do all of these buildings look the same?

The Drive Home

The drive to my parents’ home is leisurely and nostalgic, cut short only by oncoming messy winter weather. Inside, I am home. Pictures of me and my siblings used to be all over the house. Later, our pictures gave way to pictures of my daughter in every room of the house–the first grandchild, which later gave way to include all of their grandchildren’s cherub faces. The house is welcoming and familiar; the furniture comfortable, and it’s nice to be home.

The more I think about it, the more I want to go home for Thanksgiving.

There’s no place like home.

C’mon ruby reds. Click! Click! Click!

  1. danablue
    October 2, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    Those pictures have made me homesick, and I’m only a half hour away!

    • October 2, 2011 at 8:53 pm

      Around this time I always start getting homesick.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

