Home > Post A Week 2011 > Turkeys Love Vegetarians

Turkeys Love Vegetarians

As a result of a fair amount of manipulation on my part, I managed to celebrate Thanksgiving despite being 700 miles away from my real family. Like the man in the Bible who went into the highways and byways to fill his banquet hall with guests, I was thrilled to have a full house for Thanksgiving. Around this time of year, I say it a lot, “I love Thanksgiving”. Despite the mad cooking and all of the extra housework, the tingly anticipation before that first guest arrives is so worth it.

Usually, I do all of the cooking myself. Starting at least 2 weeks in advance, I plan the menu that is reminiscent of all of the childhood Thanksgivings that I loved; I know what the menu will entail, but perhaps I can put a 2011 spin on it compliments of Food Network. Cookbooks are pulled from cabinets, and recipes are poured over. On a whim, I gave in to the call of a glossy ‘appetizer’ cooking magazine that set me back $15.00 and didn’t use a single recipe from it. If I press back the dog-eared pages, any chance I could get a refund? Didn’t think so.

In a country without an official Thanksgiving holiday, we’re getting pretty good at it. My guests all chose dishes the dishes they wanted to bring (and actually brought them), everything from salad to pumpkin pie. Being vegetarians, no one missed the turkey and I certainly don’t miss having a picked-over, foil-covered turkey carcass in my fridge, saved on the intention of becoming turkey soup that will never materialize. Oddly enough, there’s still a fair amount of prep and presentation required despite the potluck theme. All I was responsible for was the soup and an apple pie. Easy. Yeah, it should have been easy. Crippled by a surprising but profound indecisiveness about my contribution, I couldn’t settle on making (or buying–yes, I CAN be that lazy) a pumpkin soup or substituting it for another appetizer. I flip-flopped back and forth between trips to the supermarket until finally deciding to make a vegetable soup in the crock pot. One hour before curtains up the diced pumpkin in the soup was still hard as rock. Little orange rocks in my soup. The crockpot was indeed on. The temperature was on high. Still, I had a problem.

Well, I’ve watched my fair share of ‘Chopped’ and the ‘Next Iron Chef’ and they make little missteps all the time. What would one of those guys do? Don’t panic–think! Grabbing a slotted spoon and a pot, I scooped out all of the hard, diced pumpkin and tossed them into the pot. That was actually a bit more tedious than I thought, but when you’re still standing in the kitchen when you’d rather be dressing for the occasion, tedium is part of the picture. A few minutes later, I had tender chunks of pumpkin and promptly returned them to the rest of the soup. I’m no Cat Cora, but I don’t think anyone noticed.

I was actually sorry to see the last guest leave, the end of another Thanksgiving season–technically. Thanksgiving isn’t just a day; it’s a verb. That’s why, those of us who don’t even live in the US can celebrate, give thanks and enjoy family and friends.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

