Home > At Play > Day 1 – The Art of Looking Busy

Day 1 – The Art of Looking Busy

Day One of my vacation actually did find me at the airport; however, there was no boarding pass in my hand, only a dollar for the parking meter. After dropping my passenger off at the airport, I then considered my vacation to be officially “on”. Even though today would be stuffed with errands, I could still make it fun. Driving back from the airport in mostly sunny conditions (not ‘mostly cloudy’ as the weatherman describes it) and 70 degrees, I looked around with a visitor’s eyes. If I were visiting, what would be interesting enough to investigate? I didn’t have to wait very long to answer my own question.

Mats. Blankets. Carpet. Since Monday, local ecologists have been using these buzz words to describe the Sargassum seaweed that has washed up on our shores. As strange as it may look to the Average Joe, the seaweed, which has blanketed bays and beaches across the Island resulting from tides and the high winds we have been experiencing from the west, is actually an ecologically important event. According to Dr. Nicholas Bates, Acting Director of the Bermuda Institute of Ocean Sciences (BIOS), “The Sargasso Sea is a unique habitat.” Creatures such as fish, sea turles and some species of endangered eels use the Sargasso Sea as a spawning and feeding ground. We’re just not used to seeing the Sargassum seaweed up close and personal at Shelly Bay or Red Hole. Eventually, the seaweed will break down and become clear, returning our beaches to their enticing, pristine condition. Until then, it’s a phenomenon that has been attracting the curious across the Island who discuss it, photograph it, or just gaze in wonder.

The first day of vacation fell on the last Wednesday Farmer’s Market before Christmas–the only one I’ve been to, despite the fact that it’s only a 5-minute walk from my office. Hubby usually goes and picks up what we need. I understand that our Farmer’s Market is noticably smaller than its counterparts in the rest of the world, but it’s an opportunity to support local farmers and small merchants. Along with farmers selling fresh produce, including broccoli, cauliflower, peppers, potatoes, etc., other merchants sold local products that make perfect Christmas gifts: sweet, local honey from happy Bermuda bees, cookies and chocolates boxed and packaged for gift giving, plants, art and sweet treats. I bought a small but vibrant poinsettia that I hope to keep alive for more than 2 weeks instead of the wreath that enticed me with its wintry pine scent. I resisted, admired the sunflowers and left before I blew my budget.

Not sure what’s in store for tomorrow, but if the weather is as lovely as today, I must get outside to enjoy it.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

