Home > At Play > Sparkles and Frilly Socks

Sparkles and Frilly Socks

While sitting in church last week, I noticed that several of the little girls were sparkling. One girl wore an aqua sundress that had a sparkly overlay that shimmered when she walked. Three layers of aqua ruffles decorated the neckline of the bodice. With her big eyes and long, hair, she reminded me of Ariel, The Little Mermaid. I’m sure that was the intention of the dress’s designer. The dress had that ‘under the sea’ look. Another little girl wore a chocolate and white polka dot dress with sequins that caught the light as the sun shone through the windows. It’s not unusual to see her wearing a tiara on her head.

I wondered, when was the last time I wore something sparkly during the day? I have one dress that sparkles—pink and silver with flounces on the ends of the sleeves and at the skirt’s hem. When I wear it people ask, “What are you all dressed up for?”

Does anyone ask the little girls why they are all dressed up? No, because they’re little girls. Little girls in sparkly dresses are cute. Little girls in sparkly dresses and frilly socks are adorable. Just add a tiara and she is a princess for the day. They don’t have to deal with functional, business suits that mask femininity or battle with designers who style their clothes to expose too much of our charms.

Next week is Mother’s Day. Maybe I’ll treat myself to a sparkly, feminine dress that screams, “I feel pretty,” step into a pair of high heels, and make a splash. Well, I may even pop a tiara on my head and pronounce myself Queen for the Day.

Categories: At Play Tags: ,
  1. Jackie Paulson
    May 19, 2012 at 8:54 am

    Oh how when I was a little girl, dressing up was so fun. Today I am going to find me a cheap dress to go with my sandles and be a little girl… 🙂

    • May 19, 2012 at 9:58 pm

      I say “go for it”! Dressing up is still fun!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

