Home > At Play, Post A Week 2012, Weekly Photo Challenge > Weekly Photo Challenge – Today

Weekly Photo Challenge – Today

I’m off from work today, still celebrating my recent birthday, while all other British territories will enjoy their holidays on Monday and Tuesday, in honor (or should I say ‘honour’?) of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee. I’m going to be griping about not having the holiday here for as long as I can. I imagine my photo on Monday will reflect a grumpy frame of mind that we are missing all of the celebrations. Not cool!

But for today–bright and beautiful as it is–I threw open the French doors to the back porch and had a look.

Sad to say, my ‘garden’ today resembles a cemetery more than a garden. There are supposed to be tomatoes and eggplant in the garden at least. The pot should be blooming with beautiful pink flowers to cheer up this corner. Well, you can see how that has turned out. I fear it is a hopeless situation until I can control my arch-rival, my nemesis, the bane of my gardening existence–frogs!

The frogs get into the moist soil and uproot everything in their way. When the moisture is gone, they hop off, leaving mass destruction in their wake. The little green border fence does not deter them. The only one who is frustrated by my efforts is me.

However, today is bright and beautiful, the sun creating a tic-tac-toe of sorts on the concrete next to the avocado tree.

This is my view from the French doors today.

  1. June 1, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    Looks lovely there! How big are these frogs?? We have so many around here, ranging from the size of pocket change to the size of a fist (and all sizes in-between!) I’ve never noticed them damaging the gardens or making a mess of things..I’m really curious now what kind you have!

    • June 2, 2012 at 9:54 pm

      We have tree frogs, which are no bigger than a thumbtack, but they make a big noise. Then there are toads, the ones that get into my potted plants. They burrow themselves into moist soil until the only things visible are their beady little eyes. By that time, they have uprooted whatever was in the pot.What the toads don’t dig up, the feral chickens finish off. Rather frustrating.

  2. June 1, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    If the frogs left the slugs would arrive!

    • June 2, 2012 at 9:57 pm

      True. Just wish everything would stay out of my struggling garden.

  3. June 3, 2012 at 7:01 pm

    Love the shadows on the patio!

    • June 3, 2012 at 9:15 pm

      Thanks for your comment. I like the tic-tac-toe pattern the sun makes with the pergola.

  1. June 2, 2012 at 7:20 am
  2. June 3, 2012 at 2:55 am
  3. June 27, 2016 at 5:54 am

Leave a Reply

