Home > Faith, Spirituality > Tell Me the Story (Conclusion)

Tell Me the Story (Conclusion)

Just as the women returned to the garden on the first day of the week, we gathered in the darkness. The women discovered the stone had been rolled way from the sepulcher; we gathered in celebration of our risen Lord.

Christ the Lord is risen to day, Alleluia!
Sons of men and angels say, Alleluia!
Raise your joys and triumphs high, Alleluia!
Sing, ye heavens, and earth reply, Alleluia!

DSC_6801
With hymns and Bible readings, the sunrise service focused our minds on the resurrection of Jesus. An angel had rolled the stone away. Jesus had been called forth from the grave, the napkin that had been around his head in one place and the linen clothes in another. Mary Magdalene stood at the mouth of the sepulcher weeping, assuming someone had removed the body. Jesus appeared and spoke to her, asking why she was crying. At first she answers Him as she would a gardener, but when Jesus called her name, she recognized His voice. She wanted to embrace Him, but he prevented her.

Touch me not; for I am not yet ascended to my Father: but go to my brethren, and say unto them, I ascend unto my Father, and your Father; and to my God, and your God (John 20:17).

Mary experienced two blessings that morning. She had the privilege of being the first person to see Jesus before He ascended to heaven to present Himself to His Father. She had the privilege of bringing the message of Jesus’ resurrection to the disciples.

Yet the resurrection story is a blessing to all who believe and confess the name of Jesus.

In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also (John 14:2-3).

We watched the brilliance of the sunrise in the distance and after the closing prayer, we filtered away from the park where we had enjoyed the sweet spirit of the Easter service. Let’s not forget the sacrifice that was made for our salvation or the promise of eternal life that Jesus offers.

Categories: Faith, Spirituality
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

